December 16, 2017, 08:47:03 PM

Home Recording Studio Equipment

Author Topic: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 2525 times)

Johnny-English

  • Guest
Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
« on: October 17, 2014, 09:24:37 AM »
  • Publish
  • Hello guitarist people, I?m in need of help/ advise please . for the life of me I can?t increase the recording levels regarding my Yamaha THR 10 going into laptop with USB and Audacity !

    The guitar track is virtually flat lining, just can?t see how to increase the level . I have the microphone bar input at max ! :confused:



    Going to sit down and calm myself by ripping strips of paper slowly ?? ^-^

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 09:29:07 AM »
  • Publish
  • Just an afterthought do I need an interface/mixer direct to the laptop with the Yamaha THR !

    Offline Rob S

    • Founder
    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 10798
    • Karma: +59/-0
      • View Profile
      • http://www.sonoma.co.uk
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #2 on: October 17, 2014, 11:31:03 AM »
  • Publish
  • Are you importing anything? Backing Track etc?
    Daniel T showed me a trick that saved the day when we did the forum jam, I'll climb out of my Sand Pit (Now filled with Fresh Bubble Wrap) and see if I can find the instructions he sent me. ;)
    "I am not a lunatic. I have the psychiatric report to prove it. A slender majority of the panel decided in my favour."

    If you lend someone ?20 and never see that person again, it was probably well worth it.

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #3 on: October 17, 2014, 12:47:41 PM »
  • Publish
  • That would be nice of you Rob as I am running out of paper to tear up.  Just tried REAPER and it?s the same ,so it?s me and me knobs not working somewhere  :D


    Offline Daniel T

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 879
    • Karma: +24/-0
    • In search of fuzz, not farts
      • View Profile
      • Daniel's blog
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #4 on: October 17, 2014, 04:53:40 PM »
  • Publish
  • Minds a bit of a blank here. I do remember discussing something about volume levels during the forum jam though I've no idea what.

    Certainly if you come up blank I can go and have to look in my various archives...
    I like to spell peddant with two Ds. That always annoys them.

    Offline Rob S

    • Founder
    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 10798
    • Karma: +59/-0
      • View Profile
      • http://www.sonoma.co.uk
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #5 on: October 17, 2014, 05:32:39 PM »
  • Publish
  • I seem to remember that if something had been recorded in Reaper, we had to go back to audacity, unfinalize it and then pop it in to the DAW I was using to be able to play with its volume? :confused:
    "I am not a lunatic. I have the psychiatric report to prove it. A slender majority of the panel decided in my favour."

    If you lend someone ?20 and never see that person again, it was probably well worth it.

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #6 on: October 17, 2014, 11:11:47 PM »
  • Publish
  • I can say that it's not the Yamaha that's the problem as I have tried recording using my Vox Ex tonelab and still can't get the recording level up .
    Have checked the levels on the laptop and they are good  :confused:





    Offline Daniel T

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 879
    • Karma: +24/-0
    • In search of fuzz, not farts
      • View Profile
      • Daniel's blog
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #7 on: October 20, 2014, 09:31:09 AM »
  • Publish
  • Forgive me but can we start with the really basics? When you plug in the Yamaha or Vox you are providing your computer with a second sound card (assuming it has a built in one). Are you sure you are recording from the right sound card?

    In audacity this is under:

       Edit menu -> Preferences
       Devices tab -> Recording -> Device
    I like to spell peddant with two Ds. That always annoys them.

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #8 on: October 20, 2014, 02:50:58 PM »
  • Publish
  • Hi Daniel,
    Any help is very appreciated, I will start Audacity up and follow your help .

    I would be really pleased with any basic tuition to start me off recording with Audacity or Reaper :) , anyway off to try it ,back soon .

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #9 on: October 20, 2014, 03:05:07 PM »
  • Publish
  • Hi Daniel, I clicked on Edit then Preferences and opened up  showing Interface and that showed
     This is by clicking Edit, preference and this shows !

    Interface
    Host MME
    Using:PortAudio V19-devel(built Sep20 201421:45)

    Playback Device : Line (THR10C)

    Recording Device : Line (THR10C)

    Channels 2 (sterio)

     :confused: please remeber its me so Type slowly  :D

    Offline Daniel T

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 879
    • Karma: +24/-0
    • In search of fuzz, not farts
      • View Profile
      • Daniel's blog
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #10 on: October 22, 2014, 09:32:13 AM »
  • Publish
  • That looks good so far...

    Lets see what sound you actually have got coming in.

    If you record something in Audacity you can digitally boost the volume afterwards. The simplest approach is to use the Normalize filter:

    • Record something
    • Effect -> Normalize...
    • Keep defaults (Remove DC offset is on, normalize to -1dB is on, normalized stereo independently is off)
    • Click OK

    This should expand your nearly flat line to something pretty huge (and very loud). Play it back and listen closely for noise (meaning background noise rather than your playing). If the background noise levels are OK then normalizing tracks after recording may be an acceptable workaround!

    If memory serves this is what we did with Rob's recordings for the forum jam because we hit the limits of Garageband's ability to boost volume...
    I like to spell peddant with two Ds. That always annoys them.

    Offline Rob S

    • Founder
    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 10798
    • Karma: +59/-0
      • View Profile
      • http://www.sonoma.co.uk
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #11 on: October 22, 2014, 10:09:03 AM »
  • Publish
  • That's it Daniel, well done. ;)
    "I am not a lunatic. I have the psychiatric report to prove it. A slender majority of the panel decided in my favour."

    If you lend someone ?20 and never see that person again, it was probably well worth it.

    Johnny-English

    • Guest
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #12 on: October 22, 2014, 10:25:23 AM »
  • Publish
  • Just tried it out Daniel and it normalises the recording on my guitar track  :D. Many, many thanks. :)

    Things become so easy when advised by someone who knows how. ;) :) :) :)

    Cheers
    John


    Offline Daniel T

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 879
    • Karma: +24/-0
    • In search of fuzz, not farts
      • View Profile
      • Daniel's blog
    Re: Audacity !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    « Reply #13 on: October 22, 2014, 10:50:33 AM »
  • Publish
  • My pleasure.

    To be honest I view this is more a workaround than a fix. Its a pain in the bottie and you might be losing a tiny bit of sound quality compared to finding another way to boost the volume.

    However this way works and I don't actually know how to find other possible knobs and levers for other peoples kit.

    I'm pretty sure that the Tonelab doesn't have any knobs and levers except its on-board chicken heads and I understand that the THR has lots of knobs in its little controller app but don't have any experience there.
    I like to spell peddant with two Ds. That always annoys them.

     

    Home Recording Studio Equipment