December 13, 2017, 08:58:58 AM

Author Topic: Hi Everyone!  (Read 7160 times)

Offline Simon.G

• View Profile
Hi Everyone!
« on: December 09, 2014, 09:35:56 AM »
Hi All,

Okay, a total newbie here! lol,

A bit about me, I'm 35, live in London, and have been in to my 80s 90s rock/metal since the age of about 10. I absolutely love the sound of the electric guitar in my fav songs. Fav bands include: Def Leppard, Motley Crue, Iron Maiden, GNR, with a little bit of Ratt, KIX, Bulletboys, Helix, to name but a few. Also love the sound of Pink Floyd.

As of late my interest in learning to play the electric guitar, and play my favourite songs in particular, is growing! I've been youtube'ing more and more solo guitar covers which I've found to be very inspirational. I feel like I'm catching the bug? :)

However, I have ZERO experience/history of playing any musical instruments. So I don't know anything about musical notes, how they should sound, sheet music, tabs, etc etc.

There's a guitar shop near to where I live, and I was thinking of popping in there this weekend to check out the electric guitars in the flesh and ask a few questions.

SO!
Hi everybody. Wondering if anyone has good advice for someone like myself - with regards what to do/what not to do, regarding the basics, if I am to venture and purchase a guitar and get myself started:

Brands/type of electric guitar
Amp type
Plectrum type
Where to learn (youtube tutorials/private tutor/books/etc)

Bearing in mind it's rock & metal that I'd like to focus on playing eventually.

Many thanks!
 :)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2014, 09:41:53 AM by Simon.G »

Offline Rob S

• Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sonoma.co.uk
Re: Hi Everyone!
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 10:10:59 AM »
Hi Simon and welcome to the forum. :)

Thanks for the comprehensive list, it makes life so much easier to start giving pointers when we know where you'd like to get to.