October 20, 2017, 08:14:54 AM

Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 3178 times)

Offline Oatcake

• I'm trying.
    • View Profile
« on: December 19, 2014, 01:33:40 AM »
Hi all,
Just thought I would join here and pick up on some guitar (common) knowledge from you guys. For the past year or so me and a couple of friends have been trying to learn how to play, I'm slowly getting better but everything I know is self taught so I'm assuming I've managed to pick up some bad habits along the way.
I've been playing a cheapish acoustic I bought a while back and an electric that we've had hidden away for years.
Planning on buying myself a Christmas present of a new electric in the next week though as I'm slowly improving :)

I'm 23 from Stoke and have always wanted to play guitar but I don't come from a musical family so neither me or any of them have ever played an instrument. I've attempted to learn how to play umpteen time to no avail, until the past year where I have dedicated a few hours of the week to playing.
My dad is a metal/rock fan and the classics from Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden etc are hammered into my brain so I enjoy trying to learn songs from that era and style, but growing up with two 'alternative' venues nearby I've been going to local gigs since my early teens and have fell in love with modern bands like the Arctic monkey's, The Wombats, Miles Kane etc.
I've learnt one song from AM but its far from a finished work, I also have a soft spot for some really.. What I would refer to as classical style music derived mainly from my obsession with the final fantasy 7 soundtrack.

It seems like I want to learn every aspect really, but I'm just unsure where to start.
I've been learning mainly riffs for the year because I seem to struggle with chords on both acoustic and electric. Is there a recommended path to start I.e riffs or chords or is it purely what I feel best doing?